Uncategorized

Why happiness is important

How far can you run at the speed you’re running at until you wear yourself thin? One way to prevent this is to stop – and simply smile.  We forget to do this all too often.

I’m exhausted. Yesterday I was so exhausted – I wanted to punch everyone in the face. It made me angry to hear people laugh, because it sounded like a cackle, it was distracting, I couldn’t hear myself think. I was so disappointed in myself for not being able to pick myself up and make time for people, to laugh. But then I walked away, I slept, I talked to people who made me happy. I watched movies that made me laugh.

And today, I walked into work and made silly jokes. I spoke in Spanish for no reason. I stared at the snow outside and realized – life is beautiful. 

Happiness is important.

 A half hour of smiling led to a few hours of productivity – I got done in just a few hours what I couldn’t do in an entire day yesterday, when it felt like the weight of the world was on my shoulders. When your heart is lighter, it’s easier to rise above the weight. And my work was better because rising above the clutter let me see my situation from a bird’s eye view.

Smile, because you never know who’s watching.

I find it really important to smile in the morning. If not to give yourself confidence for the day, to inspire your colleagues, your roommates, or friends. It inspires your work. So instead of running yourself to the ground, stop, breathe, and let yourself rise above with happiness. Why run when you can fly, right?

Happiness is important to get you through it. So give hugs. Smile a ton. Give yourself room to be silly. & Remember your happiness isn’t important just for you – it’s important for your work and everyone else around you.

kitsfamilydentalcanalwaysmakeyousmile

“Smiling is infectious — you catch it like the flu. When someone smiled at me today, I started smiling too. I passed around a corner and someone saw my grin, and when I looked I realized I passed it on to him. I thought about this smile and realized it’s worth. A single smile just like mine could travel around the earth. So if you feel a smile begin don’t leave it undetected. Let’s start an epidemic quick and get the world infected” ;] — Doctor’s office poster.

Leave a Reply

