Uncategorized

Decorate the rooftops

Photo credit: CME group

Photo credit: CME group

The statue perched above the Board of Trade building is faceless.

Built in 1885, is rumored that the architect believed that no building would grow so high as to see the face on the goddess of agriculture – he was very wrong. The Sears Tower would be built in 1973. Field Building was built in 1934 and gave its residents a direct view of Ceres, the god of agriculture and fertility. Growth.

Soon more and more buildings would grow on LaSalle Street around the faceless statue.

But there is something to be said about the faceless Ceres: that the architect planned to put her there at all when she can barely be seen by the small people on LaSalle Street, and that her face doesn’t stand for something that is incomplete. No, her face symbolizes mystery. All that could be.

Let’s go back to how the architect placed her there at all. This is why you know he’s a Chicagoan, and a good architect (even without creating a face).

Riding the El each morning, I feel surrounded by beauty, inspired, and I couldn’t pinpoint why for a while. This morning I realized it was because I was surrounded by beauty.

The elevated train perfectly showcased all the rooftops, most of which were decorated with tile, engravings, elaborate moldings or at the very least a clever advertisement.

I realized that the people that pay attention to each detail of the building – all the way to the very top of it – are the people who are creators. Innovators. Inventors. The people who don’t let their dreams have a height limit.

I used to wish on a star every night, which worked better when I went to college in Pennsylvania than it did when I grew up in New Jersey where there were very few stars.

Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, some make it happen. — Jordan

Many believe that wishing is silly. We are the creators of our own destiny. I believe that too. But I realized – I spoke to the stars not in a form of a wish, but in a form of a dream. I gave them my goals to hold onto because I was not yet tall enough, big enough, to achieve them. I had many skills to acquire first. I had to set down the framework to my building before I could decorate the top of it.

But I left my dream with the stars with the hope and faith that they would one day give me the strength and persistence to decorate the top of my building if I were to ever finish it.

I think sometimes its easy to dream big, but if you dream big it’s hard to focus on the day-to-day nitty gritty. Yet the nitty gritty and the painstaking detail is what adds up to greatness. It’s not easy. Sometimes it’s easier to just finish the project instead of following through — After all, not many of us can draw a face to God.

But the few of us who can hang on long enough to follow through and decorate even our rooftops are the ones who have reached our potential, or at least given enough value to the world for the next generation to feel beauty.

Leave a Reply

