Favorites

Love the one you’re with.

Christmas yields a bittersweet feeling of rekindling relationships. All these people I haven’t talked to in forever, I talked to yesterday for the holidays. I told a friend yesterday:

You spend 90% of your life missing people.

He asked, how do you spend the other 10 %?

Learning how to love other people.

In rekindling relationships, most of what I walked away with is how much I missed while I was gone. And guess what, in one week, I leave again. I decided from the get-go that leaving for Chicago is exciting and new. Still I have the hardest time with this because I want to hold on to people all the time – whether it’s a friend I’ve had since middle school or a person I met on a train. I made the decision a long time ago to compromise my present life for the dream of who I want to be, and I’m not necessarily upset about it. But I have a theory about our generation in this way:

We move. We leave. A lot. We dream big. We relocate often.

It makes our relationships a lot harder. It’s like that song, love the one you’re with, right? Do you hold on to the people you left at home? Or do you make due with the people around you at any given moment? Do you do a little of both?

To what extent do you hold on to the people that you love that are so far away, before you feel like you’re losing them?

I’m not sure there is an answer to that. But the best one that I’ve heard is this: the people who are supposed to be there, will be.

Leave a Reply

